Strida Mk1 serial number

Hi, I’m a newbie here. I just got my vintage Strida. By vintage I mean the first generation Mk1. My question is where do I see the serial number for this model? There are no more stickers on the body?

Hi orzalana,

welcome at Stridaforum :smiley:

Perhaps I’m wrong but I’m afraid that on these versions the serial number appeared at this mentioned sticker only.

Re: Strida Mk1, serial 008171, market value ?

flickr.com/photos/183362319 … 513285751/

Best regards,

Chris

Hi Chris,

Thanks for the response. I checked your link and my Strida looks exactly like that. Too bad all the stickers are gone on my unit. I noticed on the other photos (front wheel/handlebar tube) there’s some etched markings of some kind of numbers? Anyways, so it means there’s no other way to identify the year this was produced?

Other identifying marks are:

1. Pedals HTI-867
  2. White side walls tires (no brand) code number #KR8103
  3. Brake Levers (Sturmey Archer)
  4. Reflectors are made by Talmu Finland
  5. Seats by Viscount from Taiwan #2323

The owner I got this from said he originally bought it from Australia.

Any leads would be appreciated.

Best regards
Orland

Hi Orland,

as you got me with questions like that I had to forward your request to Mark himself :smiley:

Hopefully this is sufficient for you :wink:

Wow, thanks Blackstridaaustria.

You even got the main man himself, Mark Sanders to be involved. Say my thanks to him.
As for your answers I understand. And yes its more than sufficient to know that my unit was possibly made in Nottingham (or Portugal) which is one of the earlier sites this unit was made. Nottingham is special and I know because I also have a Team Raleigh road bike made in the early 80s.

As for the earliest makes, between 1987-1992 maybe its safe to assume this was made in 1989 :slight_smile:.
I managed to add more details to the MK1 unit like the tires below.

Other identifying marks are:

1. Pedals HTI-867